Upgrade

Description

This is the first operation that must be invoked during a Portal for ArcGIS upgrade. Once the new software version has been installed and the setup has completed, this operation will be available. A successful run of this operation will complete the portal upgrade.

Caution:

If errors are returned with the upgrade operation, you must address the errors before you may continue. For example, if you encounter an error about an invalid license, you will need to re-authorize the software using a valid license and you may then retry this operation.

Note:

This operation is available only while a portal is being upgraded. It will not be available once a successful upgrade has finished.

In scenarios where you choose to not backup your site (isBackupRequired = false), you must set isRollbackRequired to false.

Parameters

ParameterDetails
isBackupRequired

Determines whether the upgrade will backup the content, db, and index folders.

Note:

It is recommended that this parameter is set to true, which is the default. Creating a backup of directories is strongly recommended. In cases where backupDirectories is set to false, ensure other means are in place to create a backup of the content, db, and index folders.

Values: true | false

isRollbackRequired

Determines whether to revert to the pre-existing content, db and index where an upgrade failure occurs.

Note:

It is recommended that this parameter is set to true, which is the default.

Note:

When this parameter is set to true, isBackupRequired must be also be set to true in order to revert to the backup content, db, and index folders.

Values: true | false

f

The response format. The default response format is html.

Values: html | json


In this topic
  1. Description
  2. Parameters